Skip to content

Moist Chicken Breast

September 1, 2009
Greek Chicken Marinade

Greek Chicken Marinade

I am on the mend, eating and enjoying food again. Hallelujah! That being said, I didn’t want to throw the digestive tract any curve balls this week so I played it safe. In the kitchen, what does safe mean? Chicken of course. Chicken reminds me of a nursery rhyme my mom used to read us about a little girl with a little curl right in the middle of her forehead “and when she was good she was very, very good. And when she was bad, she was horrid.”

Horrid chicken to me is either really greasy or really dry and bland. To avoid dry and bland I usually go for thighs and drumsticks, but when you have people over for dinner it’s not always appropriate to serve drumsticks. So out come the dreaded boneless, skinless breasts. The entire time I’m cooking chicken breasts I’m hovering nervously, continuously cutting into them to make sure they are not raw and too make sure they are not cooked to death. What you need when you cook chicken breasts is a secret weapon to make them taste good. I have finally found it. And it was in my refrigerator the whole time: yogurt.

I shouldn’t be too surprised, I guess. After all, grandmothers have been soaking fried chicken in buttermilk for ages. Both buttermilk and yogurt are mildly acidic, which helps break down tough meat proteins. My Greek Chicken Marinade pretty much guarantees you’ll never have dry chicken breasts again. Hallelujah once more!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

