Skip to content

Cod with Creme Fraiche and Dill

September 17, 2009

rut – noun; a fixed or established mode of procedure or course of life, usually dull or unpromising

It’s inevitable, isn’t it? These points in life when we don’t seem to be moving forward at all. Yesterday, the biggest events in my life were going to the dentist and then taking my car in for a smog check. That pretty much sums it up right now . I also called a former employer for part-time work. I’m thankful I have an employer I can go back to and it’s not a bad job. But…it is a job that I was happy to leave because it meant I was moving forward to more challenging, satisfying and lucrative things. Ha! (that is life laughing in my face). So not only am I in a rut, but I’m actually moving backwards in life. That saying “two steps forward, one step back” is no lie.

Cod with Creme Fraiche and Dill

Cod with Creme Fraiche and Dill

You may be in a similar situation. I cannot help you get out of your rut any more than you can help me get out of mine. The only rut I can successfully pull anyone out of is a cooking rut. If you’ve had the same six meals on rotation for months, maybe this new recipe will help. Changing up your dinner menu doesn’t have to mean trying a drastically different and difficult recipe. Small changes in cooking techniques and ingredients can bring completely new flavors into your life.

Take something as unexciting and simple as white fish. Like cod. It’s not too expensive but it’s not too flavorful either. The easiest thing to do with inexpensive white fish is to fry it in a pan with butter. But it makes your house smell fishy and there is nothing worse than waking up in the middle of the night and then wondering if maybe you happened to sleep walk down the street to the local seafood fish shop, because the house smells like a fish tank. Then you’re sitting on the bus or at work the next day, nervously and obsessively sniffing your shirt to make sure it doesn’t smell like fish.

I discovered a better, or at least different, way to cook fish when I tried this Cod with Creme Fraiche and Dill recipe. I like this recipe because it’s easy and really, really good. It got me out of my halibut-is-too-expensive-but-all-other- white-fish-is-so-boring rut. Although I’ve only tried it with cod, I’m sure most other types of white fish would work equally well with this recipe.

The Monterey Bay Aquarium has an extensive list of fish to buy and avoid if you’re interested at all in sustainable fishing practices. I also recommend a quick glance at the list of most and least contaminated fish (mercury/pcb) on the Environmental Defense Fund website. It says that cod is safe to eat 4 times a month or more, so go crazy – make Cod with Creme Fraiche and Dill it as many times as you want! (but not so many times that you get into a rut)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

