Skip to content

Simple Roasted Tomatoes

November 2, 2009
roasted_tomatoes

Roasted Cherry Tomatoes

Recipe: Simple Roasted Tomatoes

Do you ever long for a simpler time?

I’ve been longing for three weeks ago, a simpler time when I was able to get prescriptions filled at my local pharmacy. Now my insurance requires that I fill prescriptions through the mail, (supposedly because its easy! convenient!  less expensive!) which has required several phones to my doctor’s office, two phone calls to the mail order pharmacy, and has resulted in me receiving an incorrect and more expensive prescription that I must pay for because you can’t send medication back. I never thought I would think longingly back to the days when a slightly rude pharmacist at my drab local drugstore chain could fill my prescriptions in person. Who knew those were the good old days?

In the mood for something that was truly easy, convenient and less expensive, I consoled my annoyed self with some simple roasted tomatoes. You can click to the recipe or just remember this: buy 1 pound of cherry tomatoes, put them under the broiler with olive oil, salt and dried oregano, broil for 12 or so minutes and chow down. If you want to get fancy you can sprinkle some fresh basil on top. I like to dip a chunk of crusty bread directly into the warm tomatoes but I’ve also put them on pizza and pasta.

tomatoes_sugarplum

Sugar Plum Tomatoes

During fall and winter I steer away from mealy and bland larger tomatoes and start using cherry tomatoes because they still taste good.  Plus, cherry tomatoes give off a very satisfying popping sound when they split open under the heat of a broiler. I like using Sugar Plum tomatoes because they’re really sweet but I’ve also used a multi-colored blend of heirloom cherry tomatoes with beautiful results.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

