Skip to content

Beluga Lentils with Pomegranate Dressing

November 5, 2009
beluga_lentils

Beluga Lentils

Recipe: Beluga Lentils with Pomegranate Dressing

Although I like who I am and for the most part how I look, I would be lying if I didn’t admit I often wish I was a better version of myself. I’m talking on a purely superficial level here. Of course being more successful and philanthropic and smarter and wiser would be great, but sometimes I just wish my grasp of eye makeup extended beyond mascara. It can’t be that hard, but somehow at age 34 I still don’t really understand how to apply eye shadow.

I feel like if I knew how to apply eye shadow I’d also know how to wear heels without getting blisters and buy pants that fit right and be able to pull my hair back into darling twists and buns rather than the ponytail I’ve been wearing since 6th grade. If only I could master the ability to look tousled without looking sloppy, professional without looking stuffy, and sassy but still age appropriate, then, well, what?

It’s true. My life probably wouldn’t change drastically or even at all. None the less, some days I wish I could walk through a magic door and come out the other side as a more polished, more put-together version of myself.

In the world of lentils, Belugas have walked through that door. Attractive and classy are not words usually used to describe lentil beans. Healthy? Yes. Mushy?Often. If you described a lentil as being “the color of dirt” you wouldn’t be too far off.  But Belugas are different. Tiny in size with a shiny black exterior, it is a stunning little bean. Unlike other lentils, the Beluga holds its shape after being cooked and has a slight firmness to it. The deep black color is the perfect backdrop for bright green herbs or white crumbles of cheese. In this particular dish of Beluga Lentils with Pomegranate Dressing I was wishing I had bought a whole pomegranate and sprinkled the red glistening seeds on top of the black lentils. The Beluga lentil is harder to find than brown, green or red lentils but most grocery stores that carry specialty-type items stock them.

Beluga Lentils with Pomegranate Sauce

Cooked Beluga Lentils with Pomegranate Sauce

The pomegranate dressing is almost like a sauce, as heating the juice with a few ingredients gives it extra flavor and texture. Once drizzled on the lentils, it mellows out and lends a intriguing flavor to the beans.  This isn’t the type of dish that shouts out with bold flavors. It’s subtle, but definitely more interesting than your average bowl of lentils.

Beluga lentils remind me a little bit of tiny black jewels. In fact, I would love to have a necklace strung with Beluga lentils. But that’s why I will never be the classy, put-together woman I strive to be. While other women desire pearls and diamonds, I would totally wear a necklace made out of beans. Go figure.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

