Skip to content

Arugula Salad with Roasted Grapes and Blue Cheese

November 19, 2009

Recipe: Arugula with Roasted Grapes and Blue Cheese
Cooking Time: 15 minutes for prep, 1 hour for roasting grapes
Serves: 6 -8

As a general rule I am opposed to salad on the Thanksgiving table. Not because I don’t like salad – I love it, actually – but who has room for boring old salad when turkey and mashed potatoes and buttery rolls are on the table? And although I am not that old, I find that the older I get the less I can eat at Thanksgiving. It’s a little depressing.

To every rule, however, there is an exception and I have found mine in Arugula Salad with Roasted Grapes and Blue Cheese. Yes, I know it sounds slightly funky and slightly strange, but it is a salad that adheres to a tried and true culinary law: sweet things and salty things are delicious together. Throw in a little spiciness (from the arugula) and the flavor combination is even better.

Roasted Grapes

To be honest though, I was a little skeptical of roasted grapes. I kept seeing them recently in magazines and cookbooks and I even read one blog where the woman swore that peeling every single grape before roasting made them taste even better. I’ll have to take her word on that, but the truth is that roasting grapes is no different than cooking any other kind of fruit; the flavor gets sweeter and more intense. I didn’t love the grapes right out of the oven, but tossed together with the arugula and blue cheese they were a revelation. Especially if you toss caramelized nuts in the salad, I think it would be a perfect side for Thanksgiving. If this isn’t the type of salad you usually make, give it a chance. It’s good to throw your palate a little curveball once in a while.

(Another option, if salad is banned from your Thanksgiving table too, is to serve roasted grapes and Blue cheese crostini as an appetizer.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. James Kiester permalink
    November 19, 2009 7:05 pm

    I think I’d like the roasted grapes & blue cheese better this way, in a salad, than as the appetizer in your other blog.

    • November 21, 2009 3:02 am

      Yeah, I think I like the salad a little bit better too….I had it with a blue from Rogue Creamery. Delicious.

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

