Skip to content

Persimmons and Pomegranates

December 10, 2009
Persimmon

Persimmon

Recipe: Persimmon and Pomegranate Salad with Basil

Cooking Time: 10 minutes

Approx Servings: 2-4

I don’t know about you, but I’m exhausted.

So far, this has nothing to do with the holidays and everything to do with the way life suddenly throws a million things at you at once. Thankfully they are all good things, but instead of four calling birds, three french hens and two turtle doves what I could really use right now are four more hours in the day, two more days in each week and one more hour of sleep each night….but like I said, life is good: I haven’t had the flu or even a cold yet this season, I found out I will have New Year’s Eve and day off this year (which isn’t an easy thing to get when you work in retail), it’s been cold enough the last few days for me to wear my favorite new green coat, and just before the cold snap hit our  landlord finally had our heat turned on after a 2 week battle that involved hurling politely veiled insults via email. All and all, I’d say I’m pretty lucky.

Persimmon Pomegranate Salad with Basil

Persimmon Pomegranate Salad with Basil

And as far as being busy and exhausted, I’m sure this is only going to intensify until the end of the year. The best way to deal with it, I think , is to steal tiny moments here and there that add some calm or pleasure to the day. It’s amazing how these little things make a difference. The other night I threw a completely unadorned piece of salmon on the grill –  nothing exciting, until I decided to garnish it with a Pomegranate and Persimmon Fruit Salad with a very light garnish of basil. This little fruit salad is as simple as they come, but with flavor and color that turn a regular winter fruit salad into something special. The addition of a little fresh basil adds even more pleasure, and actually tastes better after the fruit salad sits for a

Persimmon Pomegranate Salad with Salmon

Persimmon Pomegranate Salad with Salmon

few hours or days. I got a lot of pleasure from this simple but very pretty combination on my dinner plate. It’s the type of presentation that makes you look all gourmet and Martha-Stewart-ish when really you’re just super busy and pressed for time.

Both persimmons and pomegranates can both be found in grocery stores right now, or even at farmers’ markets if you live in the right climate. A friend even has a persimmon tree, although it comes with a rather aggressive squirrel who has been known to hurl persimmons at anyone who gets too close. You can treat the persimmon just like apple, as far as eating and cutting it goes. Fuyu persimmons have a hard, crunchy texture even when ripe but can get plump and juicy and sweeter if you like them that way.

A Persimmon and Pomegranate Fruit Salad with Basil is one of those things in life that takes no time to make but brings a bit of pleasure into your busy day. Whether you decide to make the salad or not, do make sure to steal some moments here and there to pamper yourself this holiday season. We all have the time and the means to do so,

My Favorite Green Coat

My Favorite Green Coat

whether it’s a walk around the neighborhood, an eggnog latte, a hot bath, or a phone call to a friend. Despite my busy schedule, tomorrow night I’m making time to trim the Christmas tree and eat hanukkah latkes. A little untraditional perhaps, but that’s how we do it in our family.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. MOM permalink
    December 11, 2009 4:02 am

    Jennifer,
    How in the world did you find time to be so creative:)

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

