Skip to content

Buttermilk Dressing

September 5, 2010

Buttermilk Dressing

Recipe: Buttermilk Dressing

Total Cooking Time: 10 minutes

For Labor Day weekend, I have decided to post a recipe for something decidedly un-labor intensive. After all, if we’re celebrating the American worker (that’s us) then it seems unfair to force the worker into the kitchen to work on a day off.  I was also inspired to whip up a quick batch of buttermilk dressing yesterday because as I flipped through cookbooks and food magazine, nothing else sounded good.

I am going through a phase that I have been through quite frequently in the past seven months, a symptom of pregnancy called “I’m hungry but absolutely nothing sounds good.” A woman told me recently that food never tasted as good to her as when she was pregnant. Even a simple sandwich made her taste buds swoon, as if it were the best sandwich she’d ever eaten. I, on the other hand, go through weeks when nothing tastes bad, per se, but nothing tastes particularly good, either. I open and re-open the refrigerator, staring at the contents and thinking that maybe in the last five minutes some of them have transformed into something entirely new.

Yesterday, though, something did sound good as I stood in my hot, un-air conditioned kitchen: A light, but creamy dressing on ice-cold romaine lettuce. Nothing too heavy or strongly-flavored, just a straight-forward and slightly tangy dip that took little or no effort to make. If I was in the mood, I could’ve added more ingredients (like garlic and Worcestershire and shallots) to make a dressing that more closely resembled Ranch. Or, I could’ve crumbled in some blue cheese. You can use this recipe for Buttermilk Dressing as a base for either of those things.

Or, you can do what I did and whip up a quick batch of simple buttermilk dressing and drizzle it over romaine or ice burg lettuce that you have stuck in the freezer for few minutes to make crisp and cold. You can dip carrot sticks into it or tomatoes from your garden, or if you’re my husband, some cold, leftover meatballs.

Pregnancy-related food issues aside, I simply have too much to do this weekend (like assemble a crib from Ikea. Aack!) to spend hours in the kitchen, and Buttermilk Dressing was a perfectly delicious solution. Next week you can can expect another buttermilk related recipe, since now I have a quart of the stuff in my fridge and don’t want it to go to waste. Which brings me to a question I always as myself when I buy the stuff. Why don’t they make buttermilk in smaller containers?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

