Skip to content

Cauliflower, One Last Time

May 22, 2012

This will likely be the last recipe for awhile that requires cranking your oven up to 400 degrees. I couldn’t resist slipping it in before summer’s heat really takes over and we’re all cooking outdoors or not cooking at all. Of course, I had to wait until May to discover that cooking cauliflower in a 400 degree oven is my favorite way to cook it, instead of in November when I could’ve made it all winter. And I’m not the only one who loves cauliflower baked until it’s brown and sweet: 

This sequence of photos was taken in a span of about 3 seconds and is a very real representation of what it’s like to work from home with a toddler. Even for my “real” work, when I’m taking photos for a cookbook, I’m often snapping the picture with one hand and swatting O away with the other. This time, she snuck up on me. Luckily, I got that first good shot before she devoured the entire plate of cauliflower.

When you find something healthy that your toddler loves, of course you want to cook it everyday for them. But alas, little O is going to have to wait. Maybe I’ll make it once more, since we all love it so much, then the oven is shutting down for the season. The weather is really heating up here and Sorin is already tired of me bitching and moaning about how hot our kitchen is and I’m already way to0 cranky considering it’s not even June. Is anyone else having fantasies of shutting their house down for the summer and spending three months in a proper summer house by a lake?

Roasted Cauliflower, One Last Time
Total Cooking Time:
About 1 hour  Servings: 3-4

I don’t especially love cauliflower, except for when it’s cooked until brown and crispy and sweet.

Ingredients:

1 head of cauliflower
3 tablespoons of olive oil
salt to taste

Instructions: 

Preheat oven to 400

Sliced Cauliflower

Cut the head of cauliflower in half, and then cut out most of that triangular inner core. Slice the cauliflower thinly.

Crumble the cauliflower into a rimmed baking sheet.  It cooks best in one layer, not piled up, so you might have to use two baking pans. Drizzle the oil on top then mix well.

Bake until the cauliflower is browned and some of the tips are crispy. In my oven this take close to an hour, but my oven doesn’t behave like it should, so it might only take 35-40 minutes in yours. Remember, wait until the cauliflower is deeply browned and just about heading into burnt territory. Try not to stir the cauliflower much, only a few times, if at all.

Salt to taste. Serve warm or at room temperature.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

