Skip to content

Citrus Basil Marinade

August 3, 2012
Citrus Basil Marinade

Citrus Basil Marinade

I’ve finally done it. After almost a decade of denial and procrastination I’ve put together an emergency earthquake kit. Having a kid makes you worry about these sort of things. Granted, it took almost two years after her birth for me to be worried enough to actually buy a flashlight and some water and a first aid kit, but don’t worry honey! We’re safe now.

Although…the week after I proudly packed the kit into our closet and crossed it off my mental to-do list we drank the entire case of what I call “earthquake water” because our water filter broke and LA water from the tap is like slurping out of a really chlorinated swimming pool. Then, a few days later Ophelia got knocked over at the park by a little kid on a scooter and we broke into the first aid kit for some Neosporin. And as Sorin likes to point out, this is Los Angeles. If there’s an earthquake we’re more likely to be in our car than in our house so a closet full of earthquake preparedness does nothing for us. So now I need to make a kit for the car.

Great.

Cute, right?

Cute, right?

But I am excited about the solar-charged radio I bought that also charges our cell phones and I think does a dozen other really handy emergency-type things. I’m kind of relying on this little radio to get us through the whole natural disaster, should it strike. Although I like to think of myself as a person who remains calm in emergency situations, I am not a survivalist. When we blow a fuse every other night during the winter because two space heaters are running at once, I can barely find the fuse box. I’m still not entirely sure how to turn our main water valve off (is it that knob thingy in the front of the house?) and if I get lost in the woods the only thing I know is that finding my way out has something to do with which side of the tree the moss is growing on.

I come from a family filled with people who I think would be very helpful should all hell break loose. They are handy, resourceful, hardy folk.  Once, at a family reunion when the people outnumbered the seats at the table, my Dad built a picnic table. Right before dinner. Like it was no big deal.

Unfortunately, not one member of my immediate or extended family even lives in the same state as I do. It’s not like I don’t have any skills at all, but I’m pretty sure that after the earthquake hits the Red Cross is not going to knock on doors asking if anyone can pair a 4-course meal with wine. And although I love food, if our pantry runs dry I’m not into foraging. Not after watching that terrifying scene at the end of “Into the Wild“.

But I can make a mean marinade.  And that counts for something, right?

Basil Citrus Marinade

I have marinated both beef and chicken in this, with delicious results. It’s our marinade of choice this summer.

Ingredients:
2 large handfuls of fresh basil leaves
Juice of 1 lime
1/4 cup orange juice
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
2 garlic cloves
1 teaspoon ground cumin
2 tablespoons coconut oil, olive oil, or vegetable oil

Blend ingredients together in a blender until somewhat smooth. Pour over 1 pound of raw meat and marinate for 30 minutes at room temperature or 1-2 hours in the refrigerator.

You can also play around with the same ingredients to make a salad dressing. Such as:

Grilled Corn Salad with Citrus Basil Dressing

Grilled Corn Salad with Citrus Basil Dressing

2 big handfuls of fresh basil leaves
juice of 1 lime
2 tablespoons orange juice
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 cup or more of olive oil

As with the marinade, blend ingredients together in a blender until smooth.

I especially like the dressing over a salad made from grilled vegetables like red onion, bell peppers and corn.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    August 4, 2012 12:15 am

    Again this looks amazing. Don’t have a kit but the radio sounds awesome. I want one!

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

