Skip to content

Homemade Crackers

September 5, 2012

Homemade Wheat Thins

Before you think I’m some kind of super-mom who has never bought a box of crackers, you should know that the reason I made several batches of  crackers recently was because I was getting paid to do it. Of course I want my kid to eat natural, wholesome homemade food, but there was no way I was going to find time for homemade crackers until a paycheck was involved.

Plus, can you imagine the stares you’d get from other mom’s at the playground if you pulled out homemade Wheat Thins? They’d be the kind of stares and plastic smiles that are meant to convey “You’re so amazing!” but really mean, “You’re so annoying! And when you leave the playground, the rest of us are all going to talk about you!”

Homemade Wheat Thins

Homemade Cheese Nips

Homemade Olive Oil & Sea Salt Crackers

So keep your homemade crackers to yourself at the playground. But do try them, because they really are so much better than those that come in a box. They taste better, cost less and don’t have any weird ingredients. They’re also really easy to make. I baked  the homemade Wheat Thins while watching an episode of Downton Abbey and doing laundry.

In some ways homemade crackers are more for adults than kids, who might not appreciate the super-flakey texture and natural flavor. I guess what I’m saying is that it’s okay if you and your husband eat the entire batch right out of the oven while your child sleeps. The next day, when she asks for crackers just give her the little package of Cheese Nips you find in the back of the pantry from a flight you took on Southwest Airlines a few weeks ago.

The problem is that now that I’ve made homemade crackers, I really want to try making graham crackers and animal crackers, too. And no one’s paying me for that kind of craziness. Someone, please, talk me out of it. Unless, of course, you have an amazing recipe for graham crackers…

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

